NAEP 2023 Annual Conference & Training Symposium

NAEP 2023 Award Winners

Zizrow Student Award

The Zirzow Award was established in honor of Charles F. Zirzow, one of the founding members of NAEP, who passed away in 1997. He strongly believed that environmental education was a continuing and lifetime process.

2023 Winner:






Gabriela M Samaniego Regalado
University of Arizona, School of Natural Resources and The Environment

Jim Roberts Scholarship Recipient

This scholarship was created in 2008 to memorialize Jim Roberts contributions to NAEP and the environmental profession in general.

2023 Recipient:

Jazzmin Peluchette

Norm Arnold Award

2023 Winner:

Dennis Peters
Principal Environmental Manager. Hart Crowser, a division of Haley & Aldrich, Honolulu Hawaii

Dr. Richard J. Kramer, CEP Memorial Award

2023 Winner: 

Ronald Lamb, CEP

Emerging Environmental Professional Achievement Award

2023 Winner:

Joshua Kunde, CEP-IT

Environmental Excellence Awards

Each year, NAEP seeks nominations for our annual National Environmental Excellence Awards. Applicants who are eligible to win represent a national or major achievement involving national organizations, Federal, State, tribal, or local agencies or companies; achieve a national or international contribution to the environment with verifiable results and evidence, and achieve innovation in compliance methodology and/or integration of decision-making with environmental regulatory processes.

2023 Categories & Winners:

Best Available or Innovative Technology: 

DOWL for Kenai Wildlife Refuge Historic Cabins SLAM 3D Scanner Preservation

Environmental Management, Stewardship, Conservation and/or Protection:

Arizona Department of Environmental Quality for Sustainable Partnerships & Protection of Oak Creek

NEPA and/ or Planning Integration:

Oregon Department of Transportation for Oregon Toll Program: NEPA Environmental Assessment Equity Analysis and Engagement

Public Involvement and Education:

City of Grand Prairie, Texas for Love Water. Love Life.