NAEP Annual Awards

 Environmental Excellence | Fellows | Jim Roberts | Norm Arnold | Presidents | Zrizow

Awards are presented at the NAEP Annual Conference and Training Symposium each year 

2023 NAEP Awards Recipients 

Environmental Excellence Awards

Each year, the National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP) seeks nominations for our annual National Environmental Excellence Awards. Applicants who are eligible to win represent a national or major achievement involving national organizations, Federal, State, tribal, or local agencies or companies; achieve a national or international contribution to the environment with verifiable results and evidence, and achieve innovation in compliance methodology and/or integration of decision-making with environmental regulatory processes. 


Best Available or Innovative Technology
Environmental Management, Stewardship, Conservation, and/or Protection

NEPA Planning Integration 
Public Involvement and Education

Nomination Window: Nominations for these awards typically open in early fall each year and close in late November. Start preparing your nomination now!

Eligibility and Requirements
2023 Recipients

Fellows Award

NAEP Fellow Members are awarded by the Board of Directors to members who have made significant and substantial contributions to the growth and development of the NAEP. 

Meet Our NAEP Fellows

Jim Roberts Scholarship

To memorialize Jim Robert's contributions to NAEP and the environmental profession in general, a group of his friends and associates convened at the 2008 NAEP Annual Conference in San Diego, California, and formed the Jim Roberts Memorial Scholarship Committee. This scholarship is the result of the work of that committee.

You may not have known him. Yet you were certainly influenced by him.
Honor his legacy. Donate to the Jim Roberts Scholarship Fund TODAY.

Eligibility and Requirements
2023 Recipient

Norm Arnold Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the National Association of Environmental Professionals (NAEP). This award is a commemorative service award named in honor of Norm Arnold, a longtime and founding member of the NAEP, who passed away in 2013.

More Information
Past Recipients

Presidents Award

NAEP President's awards are awarded by the NAEP President to members for their service and contribution to the association.

Zirzow Memorial Student Award

The Zirzow Award was established in honor of Charles F. Zirzow, one of the founding members of NAEP, who passed away in 1997. He strongly believed that environmental education was a continuing and lifetime process. The Zirzow Student Award was established in 2001 and is presented to a college student or recent graduate, who has been recognized by their department for their academic achievement.

More Information
2023 Recipient